Red, Wine, and Blue!

My meeting with Nichole and Kerrie Underhill was one of the most fun consults ever. We laughed, we gushed, we brainstormed… and the vision for this energetic wedding emerged. Nichole wanted her florals to be voluptuous, dramatic and modern, with lots of sparkle. I loved how Nichole was willing to take risks with her florals and color palette.

Special thanks to Kerrie and her sweet assistants. Setting up all the intricate details for this wedding was not an easy task, and the Platinum Weddings gals were so eager to help us out along the way. You rock!

Extra special thanks to my amazing TPetal helpers (Shana, Deb, and my lovely sis) who, with superhuman strength, hoisted 70 pound arrangements onto the tables, snapped the heads off of over 1000 roses, poured enough blue water to fill a swimming pool, and came back at midnight to clean it all up. I adore you guys!

I am so excited to share Nichole and Mike’s wedding with you. When I saw Amy Squire’s blog post this morning, my jaw dropped. They captured this wedding so fabulously. Check out their blog post for the full scoop!

nichole-2

Meet the beautiful couple! I love how Amy Squires found so many cool backdrops at the Huntington Beach Hyatt.

Wowsers, check out those shoes on the left!  You can see her red and black bouquet in the background.  She wanted "tasteful bling" on her bouquet wrap- these precious teal rhinestone buttons did the trick!

Wowsers, check out Nichole's shoes! You can see her red and black bouquet in the background. She wanted "tasteful bling" on her bouquet wrap- these precious teal rhinestone buttons did the trick!

This was an incredible scene- Two huge vases full of blue water supported an arch of tangled curly willow, accented with striking red flowers and dangling aqua crystals.  The swirly aisle went from dark red (black baccara roses), to medium red (black magic roses), to bright red (freedom roses).

This was an incredible scene: Two huge vases full of blue water supported an arch of tangled curly willow, accented with striking red flowers and dangling aqua crystals. The swirly aisle went from dark red (black baccara roses), to medium red (black magic roses), to bright red (freedom roses).

I love their joyful expressions!

I love their joyful expressions!

Too much fabulousness!

Too much fabulousness!

nichole-6

nichole-7

nichole-9

The bride crafted that cake stand herself! And that cake was almost too beautiful to eat.

No detail forgotten!

So many amazing details.

nichole-10Thank you Nichole and Mike for allowing me to beautify your wedding.  Have a blessed marriage!

6 Responses to “Red, Wine, and Blue!”

  1. joyful Weddings & Events Says:

    love it- especially the design down the aisle & the bling on her bouquet. great job ladies!

  2. Adizat Says:

    I love it. such rich colors with elegant design. Definitely love the bling on the bouquet handle and hanging crystal. great job!

  3. Jenny Chung Says:

    I’m sorry, but that Tiffany-Blue is soooooooooo hot!!! Makes me want to change my wedding colors!!! :)

  4. Favorites of 2009! « The Treasured Petal Blog Says:

    […] Favorite Ceremony Setup: Because this arch pretty much defied gravity, I have to choose this red, black and blue ceremony setup from Nicole and Mike’s wedding.   […]

  5. jennifer bradley Says:

    I want the cake stand anyone know how I can get that? Or make it?

    • thetreasuredpetal Says:

      Hi there,

      From what I remember (the bride made it, not me) it was basically an upside down wooden box covered with black silk fabric and black glitter. Super easy! You’ll just need to experiment a little. I’ve also seen people do fabric with ribbon and rhinestone trim. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

