Sweet and Sour and Seersucker

Hostess With the Mostess just featured this deliciously sweet shoot I took part in a few months ago!

My beloved friend Angel Swanson called me up one day and said something along the lines of, “I have 1 week to put together an adorable shoot.  Colors are soft teal and saturated berry pinks.  It will involve kiddos, an ice cream cart, and fruit. Are you in?”  Or course I was in!  Having worked with Angel a million times, I know how her genius mind works on shoots.  For her, they are more than throwing matching flowers and linens on a table.  Her shoots have heart, personality, and a story, and she always tries to create something a little different than anyone has seen before.  I also had the chance to collaborate with vendors I’ve never worked with before, such as Leila from Be Inspired P.R., the talented Becky Hill Photography, Sweet Lucie’s Ice Cream, and many more who came together to make the shoot special (full vendor list below).

Not only did I create the happy, textural florals for the shoot, but I had the chance to dream up some stinkin’ cute hair adornments for the kids!

Angel picked out the perfect preppy pink seersucker linen,  delicate filagree runner, and modern white panton chairs for the table.  I accented it with white glass containers chocked full of the most playful berry pink flowers I could find.

I went to the market the morning of the shoot with a totally open mind.  I grabbed whatever flowers stood out to me as sweet, fun and funky- flowers that kids and adults alike would be fascinated by… cockscomb, sweet peas, dahlias, asters, bouvardia, and more.

Being a bit “granola”, I was soooo happy Angel decided to use mostly healthy, organic fruits in the shoot instead of the typical candies and cupcakes.  The kids seemed happy with them!

The hand-painted invites by Momental Designs were truly special and fit the vibe of the shoot so perfectly!

Coming soon to the Petal and Thorn etsy site, adorable flower girl headbands and belts!  Here is one of them, made with pleated fabric petals, hot pink stamens, and HUGE hot pink rick rack.  Can’t wait for my little girl to rock this!

Sweet Lucie’s ice cream is made from organic ingredients.  The company is run by the sweetest couple who named the business after their daughter Lucie.

Have you ever seen such perfect dahlias or vibrant cockscomb?  Me neither!  I jumped for joy at the mart and grabbed as many bunches as I could.

Thank you Leila from Be Inspired P.R. for gathering such a great group of vendors!  Thank you Angel for styling this shoot and bringing me along for the ride!

VENDOR CREDITS:
Photography: Becky Hill Photography
Designer: Angel of Love and Splendor
Floral: Kristin of The Treasured Petal
Stationery – Kristy of Momental Designs
Ice Cream Cart – Sweet Lucie’s Organic Ice cream
Bundt Cakes – Nothing Bundt Cakes
Panton Chairs – CORT
Linens & Pillows – La Tavola
Hair Flowers and Accessories: Petal and Thorn

3 Responses to “Sweet and Sour and Seersucker”

  1. Autumn Says:

    What a beautiful event Kris! I didn’t realize that Angel was also in the Event Beautifying field. How fun for you guys to get to work together! Bye the way, my Aunt is a huge Hostess with the Mostess fan, and will pretty much believe you are a super star for getting to be part of a shoot that gets featured on there.

  2. Virginia Vo Says:

    Everything is so beautiful! The floral choices and colors are dead on PERFECT!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

