Exactly one year ago…

I married the most gracious, kind, hilarious, goofy, God-fearing man I’ve ever met.

Note: All wedding images were captured by my wedding photographer, colleague and friend, Trista Lerit!

My adorable husband, who is posing very naturally, don’tcha think?

My best friends, from left to right: Jenny-lyn, my beautiful sister; Angel (yes, from Events of Love and Splendor!) college church friend; myself; Ako, who I’ve known and adored since I was 5 years old; Julie, my soul mate from 4th grade who has stuck by me ever since; and Hazel, my Taiwan missions partner and dear sister in Christ. Note: Yes, I did the flowers for my own wedding (with lots of help from my little elves). But I wouldn’t advise it unless you are nuts or a professional florist! Seriously, wedding planning would have been a breeze if I wasn’t slaving away creating arrangements 2 days before my wedding. No regrets though because I got to use all my favorite flowers and had such a blast sketching and planning everything.

The only arrangement I refused to create myself was my bridal bouquet. I asked my friend Deb to assemble a loose, wild bouquet of cattleya orchids and fuchsia gloriosa lilies. She did the most amazing job. I couldn’t stop gazing lovingly at my bouquet (when I wasn’t gazing lovingly at the groom of course.) Being the sweetheart that she is, Deb delivered a rustic glazed ceramic pot FILLED with gloriosa lilies and budding curly willow to my door as an early anniversary gift. Swoon!

You should know Pesto by now! This was before little Basil came along. Maybe Trista can photoshop Basil in.

There was no way I was going to awkwardly rock back and forth in a circle for 3 minutes, so we hired OC Wedding Dance last minute to come up with a fun, flashy routine that we learned in 2 hours 🙂

Did we save the top tier of our INSANELY YUMMY red velvet with cream cheese frosting wedding cake? Well, I did. In my family’s freezer. However, being Korean, my family has fish, kimchi, bulgogi and other delish but pungent foods stored in the freezer right next to our cake. Imagine how strange red velvet kimchi fish cake tastes! Needless to say, we didn’t dig right in today. Note: Four separate people have told me that my wedding food was hands down the best wedding food they have ever tasted. Major props to Collette’s Catering for serving up piles and piles of the most thick and tender prime rib, orange glazed mahi mahi, provolone potatoes, fresh citrus salad, and more. I knew I was supposed to be walking around greeting guests, but I had to sit down for a few helpings. Good, memorable food was a priority for our wedding.

Me and Pesto sharing a moment before I would abandon him for two weeks in Italy. Pathetically, there wasn’t a day that Joe and I didn’t long to have Pesto right by our side.

Ciao! Kinda cheesy I know, but in honor of our honeymoon and heritage, we had everyone wave Italian flags as we departed.

Thank you Joe for the best year of my life. I love you!!!

Stay tuned this week for pics of our little anniversary “getaway” (L.A. is not REALLY a getaway per se.) I also hope to post pictures of Jill and Harry’s geometric wedding, LeeAnn’s shabby chic wedding, and perhaps a sneak peak of Kadidja’s apple green wedding!

8 Responses to “Exactly one year ago…”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Awwww. Happy anniversary, Kris! Your wedding was gorgeous, joyful and had absolutely amazing food. Yum.

  2. kristeen Says:

    happy anniversary! you guys are a great looking couple.

  3. Amanda Auer Says:

    Happy Anni Kris!! They go quick from here on out! Enjoy, keep soaking in moments, and keep growing in love. Being married is the best ever, and I know you two know it!

  4. Kadidja Says:

    Congratulations Kristin! You are a truly amazing and talented person and I can’t thank you enough for making our wedding florals more beautiful than I had imagined! I’ll send pics soon!

  5. LeeAnn Says:

    Congratulations Kristin & Joe!! I remember reading about your wedding on Trista’s blog. Has it been a year already? Time sure does fly. It was nice to meet Joe in person at the wedding. He probably wondered how I recognized him but he’s famous on these wedding blogs for his pics! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your wedding photos!

  6. Joyful Weddings & Events Says:

    Congrats! So fun to see your photos. Isn’t marriage the best?

  7. Trista Lerit Says:

    Congrat’s Kristin and Joe!!! It was an honor to be a part of one of the happiest days of your lives! I can’t believe how time flies! Next thing you know, there will be little Kristin’s and Joe’s running around 😉

  8. angel swanson Says:

    i was soo honored to stand by your side (in 4″ heels! haha) on your wedding day. you & joe are a perfect pair and it is a blessing to watch you two share this life together. xoxo!!!

Leave a Reply

