Bamboo Ladder Arch!

I mentioned in a previous post that I needed to create a simple arch out of bamboo for Sharon and Dean’s wedding which took place the last weekend in September.

I stumbled upon this blog, Ramblings of a Renovating Couple, and saw that they gave step by step instructions on how to create this arch out of bamboo ladders:

When I saw how easy it was to make, and when I found two 9 foot tall bamboo ladders for sale, I knew this could be gorgeous.

Here is Sharon and Dean’s simple and elegant wedding arch, stained a deep espresso brown, and strung with an assortment of mokara, dendrobium, and mini cymbidium orchids.Β  Notice the beautiful white cranes, hand-folded and strung by the wedding planner of all wedding planners, Angel Swanson.

I must give a shout out to my power tool yielding sisters-in-law, Teresa and Christine, for putting together this arch. To be honest, I am a total dummy with power tools. In fact, the noise scares me! But they came to my aid and created something truly beautiful. And I held the poles steady while they drilled the holes.Β  Yay for me!Β  Pics taken by my hubby Joe.

Plus, I can easily take the arch apart later and create the most bomb-diggity towel rack

… and keep one next to the bookshelves in our future library for easy top shelf access. We’re househunting, and hoping to set aside one room in our future home to be the reading and relaxation room. Sounds lovely, doesn’t it?

Image above from In Style via Style Court.

Stay tuned for more pictures of Sharon and Dean’s incredible wedding!

4 Responses to “Bamboo Ladder Arch!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Gorgeous, Kris! You’re so clever and the results are absolutely gorgeous. The couple must have felt so lucky standing under that arch with all the work you (and Angel – those cranes are lovely!) put into it.

  2. Amanda Auer Says:

    The arch turned out gorgeous!! And your plans for the re-use of it are dreamy. πŸ™‚

  3. angel swanson Says:

    i loooved the way it turned out. πŸ˜‰ can i have the other ladder for *my* library room?? haha xoxo

  4. Jasmine* Says:

    i can’t believe a girl who uses the term “bomb-diggity” actually wants a library room! πŸ˜‰
    beautiful work, per usual! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment