The Bouquet: from inspiration to reality!

A few weeks ago I posted this photograph by Jacqueline Veissid as inspiration for a special bouquet I needed to make for a very special photographer- Jasmine Star. She would be capturing Natalie and Bill’s day after images and wanted the flowers to be dramatic and sexy!

I just loved the white, black, mustard and blood red together.

While I was running around the flower mart at 3:00 am (that’s right, folks!) on a mission to find fun, exotic flowers, I decided to nix the mustard yellow flowers, feeling like yellow and red might look a little McDonald’s-esque. I quickly grabbed bunches of red and black dahlias, red thistle, black callas, fluffy white lisianthus, fringed tulips and feathery red celosia to use as a collar around the bouquet. I also stopped by Target to grab a few chunky charm necklaces that I could take apart and rework into the bouquet wrap.

The result? A two-ton blinged out mass of textural blooms.

Natalie and Bill are such a gorgeous couple- they are fresh from their honeymoon and just glowing. And Jasmine’s photos are out of this world! Please stop by Jasmine’s blog and check out the entire slideshow!

I’ll leave you with my favorite image:

Off to Costco to purchase 250 lemons πŸ™‚ You’ll see why soon!

11 Responses to “The Bouquet: from inspiration to reality!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    You are a crazy, crazy woman! I love hearing about your job.
    That bouquet is just beautiful, even if it does weigh two tons. Gorgeous!

  2. Joyful Weddings & Events Says:

    gorgeous! absolutely breathtaking. I love it! I cannot believe you were at the flower mart at 3:00! Crazy!

  3. Trista Lerit Says:

    Such a beautiful bouquet Kristin! I LOVE the jewels hanging from the bouquet..I’ve never seen anything like it!

  4. Jasmine* Says:

    Thank you, Kris!!! Your work is always amazing and I can’t thank you enough for this beautiful piece of floral art! πŸ™‚ xoxo..

  5. Amanda Auer Says:

    Krissy I LOVE this!!

  6. Adizat Says:

    I love your work and enthusiasm in your blog. Crazy humor but good. It truly shows that you love what you do. Thanks for your blog. Hope to see more of your work.

  7. angel swanson Says:

    you are amazing, but i already knew that. πŸ˜‰ ADORE this bouquet in all its richness and drama. i actually think the mustard yellow would have been phenomenal, but i see what you mean about the mcdonalds feel… haha

  8. Alicia Says:

    So gorgeous!! Is it weird if I just want to pick your brain for more inspiration?

  9. LeeAnn Says:

    I’ve been MIA and then I come back to all this? LOVE IT! The bouquet is gorgeous!! I want one!

  10. Jaime Says:

    My gosh your blog is GORGEOUS, I don’t know how I’ve been missing it all this time, but I’m so glad I’ve come across it. I’m adding you to my blog roll right away…and look forward to reading more! Keep up the great work, and feel free to stop on by to the wedding blog I write over at http://www.itsajaimething.com. Cheers!

    Sincerely,
    Jaime @ “It’s A Jaime Thing” πŸ™‚

  11. Luscious Lilac Bouquet « The Treasured Petal Blog Says:

    […] Jasmine Star “collection” includes a red white and black beauty, a Sex in the City bouquet, a peach and periwinkle bouquet, and for herΒ  most recent workshop, this […]

Leave a Reply

