Just for fun: Apothecary Vignette

I’m excited to say that Joe and I are finally moving into our new home tomorrow! I’ve been scouring craigslist daily for awesome *affordable* furniture that fits our eclectic, cozy, world-traveler style. This antique teak apothecary cabinet from Southeast Asia made my heart flutter and I knew I needed to have it! At 250 bucks, I consider it a steal. Sure, it’s a little bit wobbly, the drawers get stuck, and it’s got some nicks and scratches, but it’s the most treasured piece of furniture I own. I mentioned before that I was working on a Thailand inspired arrangement in honor of my trip. Well, I decided to make my apothecary cabinet the centerpiece of the arrangement. How cool would this be at a funky wedding with pictures of the couple displayed on the shelves?

apothecary

My golden yoga frog.  How cute is he?

My golden yoga frog. How cute is he?

This celedon bowl of floating flowers is inspired by the beautiful lotus bowls I saw everywhere in Thailand.  That big white flower is a composite flower made of tiny spray rose petals.  You'll also find succulents, ranunculus, dahlias, and galax leaves.

This celedon bowl of floating flowers is inspired by the beautiful lotus bowls I saw everywhere in Thailand. I chose florals that mimic the petally, geometric shape of lotus flowers, since I can't find them here in the states. That big white flower looks like a gardenia or camelia, but is a composite flower made of tiny spray rose petals glued together.

A delicate celadon bowl filled with funky flowers, including dahlias, craspedia, ranunculus and camelias.

A delicate celadon bowl filled with bright, funky flowers, including dahlias, craspedia, ranunculus and camelias.

Love this golden partridge, and recylcled glass hurricanes with jade colored rocks.  Wish I could say these are all souvenirs from Thailand, but they are not.  Head to Pier 1 for some amazing nick nacks!

Love this golden partridge, and recycled glass hurricanes with jade colored rocks. Wish I could say these are all souvenirs from Thailand, but they are not. Head to Pier 1 for some amazing nick nacks!

drawer-2

I even stuffed some of the apothecary drawers with playful florals.

I even stuffed some of the apothecary drawers with playful florals.

It’s amazing how inspiring a piece of furniture can be! Thanks to my hubby Joe for taking pictures of my random flower arrangements all the time πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “Just for fun: Apothecary Vignette”

  1. Rachel (heart of light) Says:

    I love how playful this is! Having flowers popping out of the drawers is inspired.

    The cabinet is a lovely find. I can’t wait to see your new home!

  2. Amanda Auer Says:

    Kris I LOVE this piece of furniture! So jealous that you have all the space for fun stuff like that!! Hope that you are totally loving this new home and the new season in life it’s bringing you into! xoxo.

  3. joyful Weddings & Events Says:

    I LOVE IT!! You move tomorrow- so exciting! Let me know if you need any help unpacking or decorating- since we will be in the same city now πŸ™‚ Hope it all goes well!

  4. angel swanson Says:

    adore adore adore! that is definitely a steal; i would have gladly put down $500+ for that baby. gorgeous! your arrangements are perfect for evoking the feel of Thailand. i love the colors and textures. lunch this week at your place!!! xoxo

  5. Marysia Says:

    Congrats on the move into your new house finally! Can’t wait to see how you decorate the rest of the place… by the look of the photo above it is going to be decorated with bright beautiful flowers everywhere!

Leave a Reply

