First Wedding of ’09!

When I met Naomi and Steve for our initial consultation, Naomi literally squealed with joy at the floral vision we were brainstorming. Our goal was to bring out the natural beauty of Rancho Las Lomas, which is nestled in Silverado Canyon, a place where I spent much of my childhood hiking the trails and splashing in the creek (back then it was safe, but I might grow some extra limbs if I tried that now!) Naomi’s excitement was infectious- I couldn’t help but be excited for this gorgeous lavender, cream and sage wedding. Naomi wanted classic florals with unexpected elements of sparkle. Lots of candlelight, fluffy florals and pretty scents (lavender, hyacinth, gardenias, etc.) Also rustic, garden elements like moss, fresh herbs, wooden planters and curly willow branches. My last few weddings of 2008 were fabulously funky and modern, so it was nice to do start the year off with a soft, traditional, feminine wedding.

The dream team of vendors included Angel Swanson and Jasmine Star, who I adore working with. Those girls have so much energy and talent. Check out Jasmine’s blog for the full story on this precious couple, and the rest of the stunning imagery. Since I’m sure Angel will soon be sharing on the Love and Splendor blog about all the sweet details from the wedding, I’ll focus on the florals and how they all came together.

Doesn’t Naomi look pretty? She carried tibet roses, mini callas, ranunculus, gardenias and hyacinth. Steve wore a single calla accented with twigs and hyacinth blossoms.

naomi-8

naomi-2

Playful balls of flowers hung from wrought iron hooks along the aisle, accented with a single dangling crystal.

naomi-4

The curly willow arch was dripping in florals and draping swags of crystals (you can kinda see it in the background.) Uber romantic!

naomi-5

The flower girl carried a curly willow basket accented by hyacinth blossoms, and the ring bearer carried a pillow of moss. Angel designed the beautiful paper products. naomi-3

Just a few of the reception details. I loved the dried lavender sprigs that Angel tucked into each napkin.naomi-6

The hands-down cutest detail from the wedding, and I cannot take an ounce of credit! The party favors were terra cotta pots filled with herbs and Angel’s hand-written puns 🙂 naomi-7

Too cute!naomi-9

Anyhoo, I’ve been hard at work creating florals for this weekend’s black, white and green wedding. I get to use my favorite flower in the world, the mysterious black dahlia!!! And I just recently noticed that they smell a little like chocolate. Pictures to come soon!

And I’m proud to mention that Zenadia Design featured some of my work and commentary on their beautiful blog.  Check it out!

8 Responses to “First Wedding of ’09!”

  1. loveandsplendor Says:

    your work was flawless that day… AS ALWAYS. i’m always inspired by your creativity and incredible talent. it was a hapa trio that day, too! xoxo!

  2. Jasmine* Says:

    Geesh, you two make me wish I was hapa too! 😉
    As always, I looooove working with you and I can’t wait for future weddings together! xoxo

  3. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    Just lovely, Kris!

    I am definitely in for a spring tea party. I’m in Orange almost every weekend now, so we should plan something!

  4. Melissa Says:

    Seeing this made me so excited for my wedding at Rancho Las Lomas this fall! I know all the flowers will be to die for thanks to you:)

  5. Naomi Says:

    Kris!!!

    Your flowers were absolutely amazing.. I’m still thinking about the fabulous scent in the bridal cottage! Thank you so much for all your hard work!! You are awesome!

  6. Alicia Says:

    You rocked this wedding! I wish I was getting married outside somewhere so you could beautifully frame it with that stunning arch thingamajig. But I know you’re going to work magic in tons of other places at our wedding. Can’t wait!

  7. Kadidja Says:

    Gorgeous wedding, Kris!

  8. Sweet Detail Shots « The Treasured Petal Blog Says:

    […] floral detail shots and always spoils me with the images. It’s only been a month since Naomi and Steve’s 2.28.09 wedding, and yesterday morning I received a disc with all my favorite flower images. […]

Leave a Reply

