“Black” Flowers

I have a few weddings coming up that will feature black florals, either in mass amounts or as striking accents against other colors. When I say “black” florals, I really mean dark dark burgundy, purple or brown. There are, to my knowledge, no truly black flowers. But here are some that give the impression of black and look so amazing and mysterious in arrangments:

My favorite, black dahlias:

black-dahlia-centerpiece

Here I am putting the finishing touches on one of last weekend's casual and funky centerpieces featuring black dahlias. I did purposefully wear a green, black and white dress to match the wedding color palette. I look WAY too intense in this pic.

black-dahlia

Scabiosa  (photo via Apartment Therapy):

scabiosa

Most brides are disgusted by the name SCABiosa. The flower does look very scab-like! But it looks awesome grouped together in bouquets.

Black callas (photos via Jessica Claire):

A couture bouquet made for Trista Lerit for her and Doug's anniversary shoot.

A couture bouquet I crafted for Trista Lerit awhile back.

Can you also spot the scabiosa in there?

Can you also spot the scabiosa in there?

Black baccara roses (photo by The Image is Found):

Dramatic pops of black baccaras amid vivid pink and lime florals.

Dramatic pops of black baccaras amid vivid pink and lime florals.

Black iris:

Totally rare and totally pricey.  But gorgeous nonetheless!

Totally rare and totally pricey. But gorgeous nonetheless!

Landini lilies:

landini-lily

It's really difficult to track down asiatic lilies that are this dark. It's much easier to find "blackout" lilies, which are a bit more on the burgundy side. I bought buckets and buckets of blackout lilies for this weekend's wedding!

I’m a not a morbid person in the least, but black flowers really float my boat!  What’s your opinion on them?

18 Responses to ““Black” Flowers”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    wow! I’ve never seen black iris before. Beautiful couture bouquet with the scabiosa.
    Keep up the great work on your blog.

  2. Michelle Says:

    It’s always hard to come up with black alternatives to flowers – love these suggestions!

  3. Jenny Chung Says:

    Funktified! Love it! 😉

  4. Jenny Chung Says:

    Trista looks like a model in that pic. She is so pretty.

  5. Vanessa - V3 Weddings & Events Says:

    Black dahlias are such show offs – love them! You bolted on Saturday before I could tell you how AMAZING the Huntington ballroom looked all done up! You SO rocked it!!!

    • thetreasuredpetal Says:

      Thanks Vanessa! We were in such a hurry to get out of there before the doors opened that I forgot to say bye! Nichole’s wedding was amazing and it was an honor working with you two weeks in a row 🙂

  6. My Sweet & Saucy Says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog! I loved meeting you and your husband last night and sharing in such a great time of worship! I have to say that the flowers on this post are amazing…I am loving the black look. Well, hope to work with you soon!

  7. Angela Says:

    Aloha! Another “black” flower I love to work with is Anemone. Their black button centers are so sophisticated and tailored.

  8. Melissa Says:

    I loooove them! So excited for the black dahlias we are using in our wedding:)

  9. Katherine Says:

    Is this the black folower with chocolate smell? ~ Katherine

  10. kadidou Says:

    I lile the black dahlia me it is imperative you know where I can find seeds
    pleaseeee!!!

    • thetreasuredpetal Says:

      Hi there- black dahlias come in and out of season. You will have to check with a local wholesaler or flower mart to see if they can buy them on your behalf for your wedding, or see if your florist is able to get them. Good luck!

  11. Kadda Says:

    I like the black dahlia me it is imperative you know where I can find seeds
    pleaseeeeeee!!!

  12. sylvie Says:

    where can I find black dahlia like the picture I wish I owned for my wedding because it’s my favorite flower please help me!

  13. sylvie Says:

    or can I find black dahlia like the picture I wish I owned for my wedding because it’s my favorite flower please help me!

  14. jandro Says:

    i wholeheartedly agree…”black” is stunning when done correctly! one of my favorite combos in the garden is black (dark dark red) against white dwarf snapdragons…your aesthetic is amazing! thanks for the scabiosa intro!

  15. tammy Says:

    where can I find black dahlias?

    • thetreasuredpetal Says:

      Hi Tammy,

      Black Dahlias are only in season for a short time, usually in the fall. And at that, they are still hard to find consistently. You’ll need to go through a florist with good connections to wholesalers, and remember to be flexible if he/she can’t get them last minute! That’s the hard part about this business- you can never be sure what you will get.

Leave a Reply

