A Simple Spring Shower

My sister is a breath of fresh Spring air- she’s adorable, outgoing, feminine, stylish, and my hero in many ways. As the matron of honor for her upcoming wedding, I was delighted to collaborate with the bridesmaids and throw a simple but lovely Spring shower for my big sis. I’m no stranger to weddings, but we all were CLUELESS about throwing a bridal shower. Planning a shower is not so intimidating once you break it down and delegate jobs according to each bridesmaid’s talents and gifts.

  • We knew we needed a theme- Spring. Done.
  • We knew we needed a color palette- fresh grass green, pure white and shades of girly pinks.
  • Location- maid of honor’s beautiful home in Newport Beach.
  • Food- Light, fresh, California fare. Everything I contributed was organic and all-natural (me and my sister are on an organic kick. Jenny has now surpassed me by making her own cleaning products. I’m not THAT hardcore!)
  • Games- Not my forte, so we let the two elementary school teachers of the group come up with those!
  • Decor- Lots of cheerful spring flowers in apothecary jars, including ranunculus, hydrangea, roses, viburnum and cutesy gerbera daisies scattered all over the house.
Thank you to Courtney of Joyful Weddings and Events for loaning me the Spring banner from her latest seasonal party!  You are too sweet.

Thank you to Courtney of Joyful Weddings and Events for loaning me the Spring banner from her latest seasonal party! You are too sweet.

bud vases

food table

When the bride arrived, I gave her a fresh lei of pink spray roses.  The bridesmaids all wore roses from my garden in our hair.

When the bride arrived, I gave her a fresh lei of pink spray roses. The bridesmaids all wore roses from my garden in our hair.

jeny honey

The beautiful bride, in white of course!

jen and kris 2

Organic, all natural honey jars served as favors!  Jenny uses honey and agave nectar instead of processed sugar.   One super yummy appetizer we served was fresh strawberries dipped in creme fraich mixed with agave nectar. It is just delightful!

Petite jars of organic, all natural honey served as favors. Jenny and I love using honey and agave nectar in our recipes instead of processed sugar. One super yummy appetizer we served was fresh strawberries dipped in creme fraich sweetened with agave nectar. It is just delightful!

And it wouldn't be a shower without the obligatory favor puns!  "Meant to BEE", "Love is sweeter than HONEY", and "the Birds and the BEES"!

And it wouldn't be a shower without the obligatory favor puns! "Meant to BEE", "Love is sweeter than HONEY", and "the Birds and the BEES"!

Thank you bridesmaids for making it a super sweet day!

Thank you bridesmaids for making it a super sweet day!

One Response to “A Simple Spring Shower”

  1. Rachel (Heart of Light) Says:

    You girls are so cute! Sister bridal showers are the best.

Leave a Reply

