Confessions of a Florist

I need to get a few things off my chest:

1.  When I type the word “bout”, it’s because I actually don’t know how to spell “bouttonnierre” (sp?)- not because I think it’s a cute nickname.   They say spelling ability is absolutely no indication of intelligence, in case you are worried.

2.  I listen to old school rap and r & b while I create my florals.  Snoop dog, Envogue, Boyz II Men, etc.  Maybe that’s why my arrangements have so much flava!

3.  Back in college, Angel and I  had alter-egos.  She was Ronald.  I was Donald.  Together, we were the “Dronald twins”- awkward pubescent twin brothers who live in the midwest.  Come to think of it, they were a lot like Napoleon Dynamite, before that movie even came out!  We used to spend hours pretending to be them.  It  freaked out/annoyed everyone… except us 🙂

I guess I’m doing pretty well if my biggest confessions involve a spelling error, Salt & Peppa, and a little playacting.  I’ve always been such a goody-goody!  Can you believe I was voted “sweetest” in 8th grade?

In line with my last post about “ugly-pretty” flowers, check out this little preview of an amazing tablescape I took part in!  Much more of this “manly” table to come, complete with beautiful beer bottles and cuban cigars at each place setting.  This one gets Joe’s stamp of approval!

china mums, kale, sandersonia, dahlias, mokaras, and more in ceramic "veneer" vases

closeup of sandersonia- possibly the world's cutest little flower!

these definitely count as "ugly-pretty"

(photos by the sweet and talented Jeffrey Neal, table design by D*lsh Designs)

Tags: , , ,

9 Responses to “Confessions of a Florist”

  1. Jasmine* Says:

    Hahahaha! LOVED this post!!

  2. Ala Says:

    “Maybe that’s why my arrangements have so much flava!” LOOOOOVE it!

  3. Trista Lerit Says:

    LOL..The Dronnal Twins need to make an appearance at our next happa lunch!! Only for 5 minutes though..it would definitely scare me if you guys did it for the entire 3 hour lunch..lol!

  4. Trista Lerit Says:

    Obviously I can’t spell either..Dronald!

  5. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise Says:

    That “bout” word is a hard one! I googled it and it’s boutonnière including the accent — but I think “bout” is just as good and certainly easier to remember!

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog — it was my pleasure to feature your mask. It is truly beautiful!

  6. Rachel (heart of light) Says:

    I have one of those Lips of Faith beer bottles! We bought it just for the bottle.

  7. Erin Says:

    Your blog is great inspiration, love it! I laughed so hard at the “bout” issue… I do the same thing for the SAME reason, and I’m generally a great speller, I have an English degree! (So don’t feel bad!) 🙂

  8. christina Says:

    I love this blog! You are too cute!

  9. christina Says:

    i have to see this alter ego sillyness that you and angel do. but totally agree with trista…not so long that i start to get weirded out. 😀

Leave a Reply

